Father’s Day

God is so cool.

Cool seems like a generic word to describe such an amazing and incredible Father, but honestly, that’s the word that pops into my brain when I think of Him. As I have stated before in my very first blog post, I grew up in a divorced home. I favored my mom mostly. Maybe it was because I was a girl and felt more drawn to her femininity or maybe because I lived with her the majority of the time and only visited Dad on the weekends. I’ll never know. I remember one weekend in particular when my dad came to pick my brother and I up. I begged Dad to let me stay home with Mom. I felt guilty for leaving her all alone in an empty house. Although as rowdy as my brother and I were, I am sure Mom loved having peaceful weekends to herself!

Dad caved. He had not seen me all week, but he allowed me to stay with my mom. As he and my brother drove down the driveway, I felt this tug in my heart. I started crying and begging Mom to call Dad and tell him I had changed my mind.

In my earlier blog I stated that having divorced parents had it’s advantages. Choosing which parent needs you more is not one of them.

Needless to say, Dad turned around at the end of the drive way and I spent the weekend with him and my brother. Dad’s house was always different. When I was seven or eight, I remember two things about my dad mostly. One was that he was always tired. He had dark circles under his eyes and ALWAYS fell asleep on the couch when we were watching tv together. And the other, was that he never missed a pick up time or an opportunity to see us.

As the years passed and things morphed into the present day, I learned why my dad was always so eager and so exhausted. My dad was working two full-time jobs to pay for college so he could get a raise at work! Basically a week in the life of my dad looked a lot like this: Mornings equaled daytime job, nights equaled night time job + online classes, and  then that left the weekends with the kids. I would not have blamed him for calling Mom up and explaining how exhausted he was, saying that he’d swing by later after a nap to pick us up. However, that was NEVER the case.

Looking back on that day, when I saw my dad driving away, I remember the lesson God has taught me.

That tug I felt as he drove off, that’s the tug God feels when we walk off the path He has for us. Those uncontrollable tears I cried, those are the tears wept in heaven when a child of God chooses death over life.

But, the joy and relief I felt when I saw my dad turn around to come and pick me up, that’s the joy and relief the Father has for us everyday.

No matter what situation you’re in. or how long the day, month, or year may seem, no matter the season you are walking through God is in full control.

Today our pastor gave us a quote, “When you understand that God is in everything then you realize that there is good in everything, because God is good.”

Jeremiah 29:11 states that God knows the plans He has for you. Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.

Galatians 6:9 says to not grow tired of doing what is good because there will come a “Kairos” or propitious moment when God will stick His finger into our lives at the most unexpected time.

Father’s Day could be hard to swallow for a lot of people who don’t have a good relationship with there father or do not have a father at all.

But that’s the thing, we are not father-less. For who makes the orphan a son and daughter? Who’s love is mighty and so much stronger than all we may face? Who trumps our enemies? Who sent His ONLY Son to Earth to die for us and set us free from worry, shame and guilt just because He loves us?

God.

God did not create you on accident. When God formed you he didn’t go, “Oops, messed up on that one!” No. He created you with a purpose and a pre-planned life.

Now it’s up to you to believe it and to live your life originally.

~A.E.House

Leave a Reply

